A New Project Bike A Different Way Of Riding

cobra-powrflo-air-intake-system-honda-shadow-rs-750-10-12-75630

   I want a Honda Shadow RS Motorcycle. It is a 750cc liquid cooled standard motorcycle. And I want some hippy design paint on the gas tank and also on the fenders and maybe a peace sign with some paisley graphics. I will like the white color as a base color.

   I don’t need a big heavy motorcycle. It’s not the rate of speed or a powerful engine and a lot of horsepower which are like so many bikes out there especially in today’s market and if you combine a more powerful motorcycle with distances traveled in such short periods of time or in record time. Maybe that’s because this has always been the way we did our riding. You know, to go barreling down the road at a high rate of speed on a powerful motorcycle. I did this. I’m thinking I’ve been doing it wrong all this time.

  So I’m thinking of a smaller bike and one that has the same potential.  A motorcycle you can take on the main roads as well as being excellent to ride on the back roads and I wish to take my time to stop and visit many places and talk to people.

  Many times I wanted to park but didn’t stop and this was usually because there was no place to pull over or to turn around on my rather large motorcycle.  Here the Honda Shadow RS is a smaller bike and I think it is more practical.  I will add accessories to make myself comfortable. Who is with me.

   I’ve read a book titled ‘Jupiter Travels’ where Ted Simons rode his motorcycle a Triumph 500cc motorcycle around the globe and it took him four years to do so.

  Well there is more here and what am I talking about? I’m talking about an experience. I am talking about such experiences that will help me experience many diverse things and see many things which will help me learn things and again express myself. Yes, you express yourself by riding a motorcycle. It has been said that with the right feel of the right bike underneath you this will enable you to express yourself on that motorcycle. That is if you are fitted well with the motorcycle. I’m referring to the Honda Shadow RS the one I’ve delivered a picture of here.  I am talking about a small little motorcycle and one that would have the potential for traveling long distances.  I’m talking about a motorcycle to travel on the back roads. The kinds of roads where you see fences put along beside the roads and in the nearby fields you see cows in those fields nearby the roads that you’re on.

  I’m also talking about when there is the time to stop the motorcycle and this should be simple enough, this is the time you need to stop and visit the little places you’ve come to. You have to note what one manufacturer does compared to another manufacturer, and that you’re attributing your allegiance with that manufacturer or with whomever and what this brand of motorcycle has to offer you. Are you just patronizing that particular manufacturer to be cool? Did you ever think of being different? And if not, why not?  I feel that for me this is called a project bike, and that’s what I want to call it, “A Project Bike.” 
  It is a very clear preconceived notion of insights which have come from my past experiences. Although many who do this sort of thing are reverting backwards or are heading into a life style adapted to their own, that of city bike life style. Of course I don’t know how else to describe the experience. 
  I’m thinking you have to envision a little bit of the history behind motorcycling and how we morphed into what we see out on the highways today with the big twin cruisers; Hondas, Harley Davidsons and BMW’s and others. These were thrust at our generation or of my age group. We all morphed into these bigger bikes, these bigger motorcycles from an early age. I myself have morphed into what is called Sport Touring, a style of motorcycling. Check this out. I had a Honda 1300ST also a BMW R1150R which is a Sport Touring motorcycle, they had travel cases or bags some call them panniers and the Sport Touring bikes they have wind shields. Today I ride a Harley Davidson 2012 Dyna Super Glide Custom.
  I can remember as a very young child at the age of 5 or 6 years old playing out in the yard where we lived back in the early 1960s. Someone had a mini bike and was riding it up and down the streets near our home. I ran towards the excitement. I also remember borrowing someone’s 90cc Honda Scooter near the ball park one evening. I took off on this 90cc mini bike across the fields. I think you’ve might have heard this called ‘Free-Range Parenting’. My parents never knew I rode someone’s mini bike in my neighborhood or anywhere else. But hey, they let me play outside unsupervised and that’s what the kids did back then in the early 1960s you know?
 Later, I had acquired a small motorcycle of my own I was only 17 years old. This was in 1974 and the bike was a used 1971 175cc Honda Motorcycle On/Off Road Enduro. We would take to the sidewalks and ride beside of the roads but not on the roads looking for places where we could ride. I can remember riding up steep embankments. That was my early beginnings.
FB_IMG_1427672275398
   It wasn’t until 1992 that I bought my first real motorcycle a Harley Davidson 1992 Sportster 883cc. Ever since then I’ve owned a motorcycle. There have been many that I have owned. Now I ride a Harley Davidson Dyna Super Glide Custom 96ci or 1500cc . I thinks it’s smaller in size than the HD Big Twin touring bikes yet it has enough power to get me across country if I choose to. I have put on over 180,000 miles on all my bikes combined since 1992. More than that probably. Yet I have lost count. But I always seem to remember how many miles I have put on each bike right before I trade them in for something new.
DSC00143_003
   I have rode this bike for many miles to many new places. This BMW was an excellent motorcycle and I remember riding this BMW down into NYC into Manhattan of NYC. I rode this bike all over New England and to the Upstate New York.
Honda ST1300 2005
 Out of all my motorcycles I have put more miles on this Honda ST 1300 than any one.  Also with this bike I rode further on any day’s ride than any of the other bikes I have owned. The most exhilarating of all my rides have been done on this bike, the Honda ST1300. That ride started in Coeur d’Alene, ID and I rode all the way to Mountain Home, ID. That was one day’s ride. The next morning I rode this Honda ST1300 from Mountain Home, ID to Las Vegas, NV. I remember entering Nevada and riding through a  small town called Jackpot, NV. The entire state of Nevada is a beautiful place where to ride a motorcycle. The roads are well paved and the scenery is gorgeous.
20140222_105028
This was my first big Harley I owned. This was however my second Harley Davidson. My first was a 1992 HD Sportster 883cc.
 20141023_121534-1
This is my current motorcycle, a Harley Davidson Dyna Super Glide Custon.
  However now I’m looking for that niche bike, that project bike or is this just an idea in my head. I’m thinking about the guy who rode his Triumph Bonneville 500cc around the world that took him to many places. He was gone for 4 years on a motorcycle trip.
  What do I want from all of this. The Honda Shadow RS is a 750cc engine and has a liquid cooled motor. The motor is designed for tighter tolerances. It is quieter and the engine runs smoother as well.  It is lighter weight and is very easy to handle / maneuver and has a low seat height. I can touch the ground with my feet. Overall the bike is less intimidating.
   Maybe I just need this Honda Shadow as a second bike to do all this. Not a bad idea. Who is with me? 
More to follow.

 

Standard

Leave a Reply

